She Chose Me

She Chose Me

£8.99

Author: Tracey Emerson

For fans of The Girl Before, Into the Water and The Couple Next Door


'Not having a child can change your life as much as having one.' 


Grace has returned to London after twenty years abroad to manage her dying mother’s affairs. When she receives a blank Mother’s Day card in the post, she is confused and unsettled. Who could have sent it to her and why? She isn’t a mother.


Another Mother’s Day card arrives. Then come the silent phone calls. Haunted by disturbing flashbacks, Grace starts to unravel. Someone is out to get her. Someone who knows what she has done. Someone who will make her face the past she has run from for so long. 


Emerson creates an intricate web in this intense psychological thriller whose high energy and fast-pace will have you racing towards the climactic conclusion. Perfect for fans of The Girl Before.


‘I read this in two days. Fast-paced, dark and unsettling, this is an intelligently written, edge-of-your-seat thriller. A compelling pageturner with a satisfying ending and a late twist that I didn’t see coming’ Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood 


‘She Chose Me is a cleverly constructed, elegant page turner that will hook you from the very first line. An enormously enjoyable read’ Louise Dean, award-winning author of Becoming Strangers 


‘If you enjoy tension, suspense and surprise, She Chose Me, Tracey Emerson’s brilliant debut novel is your next favourite read. Emerson ratchets up the suspense from the first page and never lets it go. Dignified by deft and ingenious plotting, forensically insightful characterisation and impeccable prose, this psychological thriller delivers on all levels’ Lesley Glaister, award-winning author of The Squeeze 


‘She Chose Me is an accomplished debut that despite being tightly plotted manages to retain a really refreshing rawness… The fastpaced story kept me guessing until the end and raised many thought provoking questions about family, motherhood, rejection and mental health. I do love a story that intrigues as much as it provokes, and to this end Tracey Emerson has scored on both counts. Very well done’ Cath Weeks, author of Mothers 


‘A great read. I loved the two female protagonists, particularly the brilliantly chilling anti-heroine’ Sarah J. Naughton, author of Tattletale 


‘Moving, compelling and beautifully written. It deserves to fly off the shelves’ Mel McGrath, author of Give Me the Child